LI Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has ultimate responsibility for the activities of the Institute, in line with the requirements of the Charities Act 1993 and as prescribed by the Royal Charter, By-Laws and regulations.

The role of the Board is to:

  • Ensure that the Institute has a clear vision and a strategy focused on its achievements
  • Ensure that the Institute meets its objects as set out in the Charter and retains its ethos and values
  • Ensure that the Institute complies with its legal and regulatory requirements
  • Ensure that expert advice is taken from members, Council and standing committees before decisions are made
  • Act as guardians of the Institute’s assets, both tangible and intangible, and ensure the financial stability of the organisation
  • Agree performance targets for the Chief Executive and hold the secretariat to account

The Board’s role and responsibilities are set out in its Terms of Reference.


The Board has legal responsibility for the charity and meets six times a year. There are up to 13 board members:

  • Five Honorary Officers all directly elected by LI members:
    • President
    • Vice-President
    • Honorary Secretary
    • Honorary Treasurer
    • President Elect or Immediate Past President in alternate years
  • One non-chartered Board member directly elected by LI members
  • Three Standing Committee Chairs (Education and Membership,  Policy, and Technical)
  • Four other Independent Trustees who may or may not be LI members, depending on the Board’s skills requirements

Trustees 2017-18

PresidentMerrick Denton-Thompson OBE FLI
President ElectAdam White FLI
Vice-PresidentHelen Tranter CMLI
Honorary SecretaryJames Lord CMLI
Honorary TreasurerCarolin Göhler CMLI
Elected Non-Chartered MemberNiall Williams
Chair – Education and Membership CommitteeMichelle Bolger CMLI
Chair – Policy CommitteeKate Bailey CMLI
Chair – Technical CommitteeMarc van Grieken FLI
IndependentJim Smyllie
IndependentDr Phyllis Starkey
IndependentCharles Young